Skip to content
Bangor Counts — Bangor, in numbers.Local help →

Bangor · Wales

People and living standards

Gwynedd council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Gwynedd

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Gwynedd local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 115,007 in 1991 to 120,295 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Gwynedd council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 117,486 people in 1996; 120,295 people in 2025. 2.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Gwynedd council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991115,007
1992115,426
1993115,717
1994116,330
1995117,526
1996117,486
1997117,606
1998117,384
1999116,362
2000116,699
2001116,844
2002117,344
2003118,022
2004118,721
2005118,641
2006119,070
2007119,398
2008119,746
2009120,344
2010121,155
2011121,523
2012121,439
2013120,403
2014119,796
2015119,632
2016118,958
2017118,881
2018118,129
2019117,584
2020118,180
2021117,072
2022118,157
2023120,307
2024120,713
2025120,295
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Gwynedd council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,826 people in 1996; 18,417 people in 2025. 19.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Gwynedd council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199122,201
199222,356
199322,524
199422,835
199522,976
199622,826
199722,863
199822,854
199922,459
200022,476
200122,603
200222,361
200322,085
200421,689
200521,360
200621,291
200721,209
200821,040
200920,965
201020,939
201120,868
201220,974
201320,705
201420,525
201520,391
201620,278
201720,100
201819,962
201919,777
202019,710
202119,402
202219,245
202319,158
202418,849
202518,417
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Gwynedd council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 72,335 people in 1996; 73,187 people in 2025. 1.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Gwynedd council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199170,823
199270,910
199370,945
199471,286
199572,247
199672,335
199772,342
199872,169
199971,725
200072,040
200172,016
200272,544
200373,232
200474,160
200574,241
200674,510
200774,624
200874,727
200974,891
201075,409
201175,336
201274,431
201373,276
201472,376
201572,318
201671,739
201771,752
201871,241
201970,838
202071,212
202170,262
202271,311
202373,151
202473,555
202573,187
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Gwynedd council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,325 people in 1996; 28,691 people in 2025. 28.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Gwynedd council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,983
199222,160
199322,248
199422,209
199522,303
199622,325
199722,401
199822,361
199922,178
200022,183
200122,225
200222,439
200322,705
200422,872
200523,040
200623,269
200723,565
200823,979
200924,488
201024,807
201125,319
201226,034
201326,422
201426,895
201526,923
201626,941
201727,029
201826,926
201926,969
202027,258
202127,408
202227,601
202327,998
202428,309
202528,691
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 117,392 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gwynedd · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,9681.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5130.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,3331.1%
White112,98796.2%
Other ethnic group5910.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 121,874 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gwynedd · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White117,57396.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9640.8%
Asian/Asian British2,1701.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2890.2%
Other ethnic group8780.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 116,843 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gwynedd · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White115,45498.8%
Mixed4820.4%
Asian/Asian British4340.4%
Black/Black British1200.1%
Chinese/Other3530.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 19.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Gwynedd council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,766 per person in 1997; £20,785 per person in 2024. 137.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Gwynedd council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,766
19988,814
19999,256
20009,488
200110,091
200210,452
200310,848
200411,467
200511,786
200612,451
200712,543
200812,711
200913,004
201013,165
201113,272
201213,545
201314,019
201414,680
201515,204
201615,350
201715,724
201815,883
201916,531
202016,922
202117,735
202218,341
202319,472
202420,785
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Gwynedd council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -17.4% in 1997; -19.9% in 2024. 2.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Gwynedd council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-17.4
1998-18.6
1999-18.2
2000-20.3
2001-18.4
2002-17.4
2003-16.8
2004-15.5
2005-16.2
2006-15
2007-18.3
2008-19.3
2009-18.8
2010-18.5
2011-18.5
2012-19.8
2013-20
2014-18.8
2015-20.1
2016-20.3
2017-20.2
2018-22.2
2019-21.5
2020-19.4
2021-18.8
2022-20.1
2023-20.4
2024-19.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

17%

21 March 2021 · Gwynedd local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.3%

21 March 2021 · Gwynedd local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.2%

21 March 2021 · Gwynedd local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£205,000

July 2026 · Gwynedd local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£724

August 2026 · Gwynedd local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.